Accomplishments of Beta Phi Brothers

Grand Officers from Beta Phi
Lawrence A. Oxley, 14th Grand Basileus (1933-1935)
Brother I. Gregory Newton, 24th Grand Basileus (1958-1961)
John H. Scott, First Vice Grand Basileu (1998-2000)
George A. Isabell, Grand Keeper of Records and Seal (1937-1944)
G. W. Cox, Grand Marshall (1933 Conclave - Durham, NC)
Asa T. Spaulding, appointed to chair the fraternity's initial housing committee (1936)

District Officers and Committee Leadership
John H. Scott, Sixth District Representative and Executive Committee
Quantella Williams, Economic Development Committee, Sixth District; 1999 Leadership Conference Committee
Charles Blackmon, Budget and Finance Committee Chairman, Sixth District; National Insurance and Benefits Committee; 1999 Leadership Conference Committee
Larry Shealey, 1999 Leadership Conference Committee; Technology Committee
James Mills, 1999 Leadership Conference Committee
Ronald Peterson, Talent Hunt Committee Chairman, Sixth District
Donnie Cox, Undergraduate Advisors Committee Chairman, Sixth District

Financial Industry
North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company has had four of its presidents to be members of Beta Phi:
William Kennedy, Jr.
Asa T. Spaulding
Joseph W. Goodloe
William Kennedy, III

Mutual Community Savings Bank has had three presidents to be members of Beta Phi:
John S. Stewart
F. V. "Pete" Allison
George Quick

Mechanics and Farmers Bank's founding president was a Beta Phi Chapter Basileus:
John H. Wheeler

College Presidents
Leroy T. Walker, North Carolina Central University
Mickey Burnim, Elizabeth City State University
George Reid, Kentucky State University
Marian Thorpe, Elizabeth City State University

Outstanding Athletics
George Quiett, legendary North Carolina Central University Football Coach; NCCU Hall of Fame
Leroy T. Walker, legendary North Carolina Central University Track Coach; U. S. Olympic Coach; President, U. S. Olympic Committee
Fred D. McNeill, Jr., NCCU Hall of Fame
Kevin Crittendon, UNC TRack Team, 3-Time ACC Champion in Triple Jump (97, 98, 99).

Politics and Civic Organizations
Rencher N. Harris, Durham City Council; Durham Board of Education
Thomas Bass, Durham Board of Education
John Lucas, Durham Board of Education; former President of National Education Association
John S. Stewart, Durham City Council
Asa T. Spaulding, Durham County Commission
Henry M. Michaux, NC House of Representatives
Eric Michaux, NC Board of Transportation
Fred D. McNeill, Jr., believed to be the first African American elected to a Durham county-wide political campaign in 1968, Board of Education
Edgar Murphy, NC Board of Education
William A. Marsh, Jr., NC Board of Elections
A. Leon Stanback, Jr., Superior Court Judge
W. G. Pearson, Jr., Superior Court Judge
George Quick, Chairman, Durham County Hospital Corporation
Charles Blackmon, Chairman, Durham County Hospital Corporation; NC Governor's Task Force
Howard Fitts, Durham County Board of Health
Carl Hodges, Durham County Farm Extension Agency
Joel C. Smith, Durham Education Network
Thomas Davis, Durham Planning and Zoning Commission; M. L. King, Jr. Steering Committee; Durham Civic Center Commission
William Sutton, President, National Association of Black Journalist

Beta Phi Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. All rights reserved.
Contact Beta Phi Chapter at PO Box 2091 Durham, NC 27702
Created and maintained by Innovative Business Decisions